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2 The Washington State Board of Education 

Rule-Making on Charter Schools 

Chapter 28A.710 RCW 

Rules to: 

 

• RCW 28A.710.110 -- Authorizer Oversight Fee 

 

• RCW 28A.710.140 -- Charter Applications  

 

• RCW 28A.710.150  -- Maximum Number of Charter 

Schools 

 

 

 

 



3 The Washington State Board of Education 

Authorizer Oversight Fee 

RCW 28A.710.110 

 
“The state board of education shall establish a statewide 

formula for an authorizer oversight fee . . . “  

 

• Applies to all authorizers – districts and Commission. 

 

• Calculated as a percentage of the state operating 

funding allocated to each charter school. 

 

• Deducted from the state allocation by OSPI and 

transmitted to the authorizer. 

 

. 

 

 

 

 



4 The Washington State Board of Education 

Authorizer Oversight Fee  --  Amount 

 

• Capped at 4 percent of each charter school’s annual 

funding. 

 

• May be on a sliding scale, with the fee percentage 

decreasing for: 

 

 Number of years authorizing, or 

 

 Number of schools authorized. 

 



5 The Washington State Board of Education 

Authorizer Oversight Fee -- Uses 

• May be used exclusively for fulfilling purposes of 

charter school authorizers under RCW 28A.710.100 

 Soliciting and evaluating charter applications 

 Approving and denying applications 

 Executing charter contracts 

 Monitoring performance and legal compliance of charter 

schools 

 

• Must be separately accounted for and annually 

reported to the State Board of Education. 



6 The Washington State Board of Education 

Setting the Oversight Fee -- 

Considerations 

• Should be at sufficient to support quality authorizing. 

 

• Has to work for both school district authorizers and the 

Commission. 

 

• Wide variety in state practices for authorizer funding.  

No single formula that is “best.” 

 

• Difficulty in identifying reasonable authorizer costs.  

 



7 The Washington State Board of Education 

Setting the Oversight Fee –  

Considerations, cont. 

 

• High expectations for authorizers in Washington’s 

charter law. 

 

• Up-front costs to authorizers.   

 

• The learning curve. 

 

 

 



8 The Washington State Board of Education 

Authorizer Oversight Fee --  

Proposed Rules 

 

• 4 percent oversight fee – maximum allowed by law. 

 

• Sliding scale – 3 percent fee after authorizer has 

authorized 10 charter schools. 

 

• Periodic review of fee, using data required in annual 

reports by authorizers to SBE. 

 

 



9 The Washington State Board of Education 

Charter Applications Timeline 

RCW 28A.710.140 

“The state board of education must establish an annual 

statewide timeline for charter application submission and 

approval, which must be followed by all authorizers.” 

 

• Includes two dates called out in other sections: 

o Date by which each authorizer must issue and 

publicize RFP (28A.710.130) 

o Last date by which authorizers must report action to 

approve or deny charter applications to SBE 

(28A.710.150) 



10 The Washington State Board of Education 

Charter Applications – Two Timelines 

 

• As for authorizer approval process, recognition of the 

need for two timelines in initial rules: 

 

 A shorter timeline, for 2013 applications only. 

 

 A longer timeline, for applications in 2014 and all 

following years. 

 



11 The Washington State Board of Education 

Charter Applications Timeline – 

Considerations 

 

• Adequate time for preparation of charter applications.   

 

• Adequate time for authorizer evaluation and decisions 

on charter applications. 

 

• Adequate time for school startup between charter 

approvals and school openings. 

 



12 The Washington State Board of Education 

Charter Applications Timeline – 

“A well planned process” 

• No standard timelines to be found in other state 

practices – requirements vary too much. 

 

• “A well-planned process might include minimum 

timeframes such as: 

• Three months from release of the RFP to the 

application deadline; 

• Three months for evaluation of the applications; 

• Nine months, but preferably 12-18 months, from 

approval to school opening.” 

-- National Association of Charter School Authorizers 



13 The Washington State Board of Education 

Charter Applications Timeline – 

Proposed Rules 

 Action Applications in 2013 
Only 

Applications in 2014 
and Ongoing 

Last date for all authorizers to 
issue RFPs (28A.710.130) 

September 22, 2013   
 

April 15, 2014 
 

Closing date for charter 
application submissions 

November 22, 2013 
(60 days) 

July 15, 2014 
(90 days) 

Closing date for authorizer 
approval or denial of charter 
applications 
 

January 22, 2014 
(60 days) 

October 15, 2014 
(90 days) 

Last date for authorizer to submit 
report of action to approve or 
deny application (28A.710.150) 

February 1, 2014 
(10 days, per law) 

October 25, 2014 
(10 days, per law) 



14 The Washington State Board of Education 

Maximum Number of Charter Schools 

Lottery Process  

• On receipt of notice that a charter school has been 

approved, SBE must certify whether it is within the 

limits on the maximum number of schools allowed. 

 

• “If the board receives simultaneous notification of 

approved charters that exceed the annual allowable 

limits . . . , the board must select approved charters for 

implementation through a lottery process, and must 

assign implementation dates accordingly.” 

 -- RCW 28A.710.150(3) 

 



15 The Washington State Board of Education 

Maximum Number -- Lottery Process 

Proposed Rules  

• “Simultaneous notification” means on the same day. 

 

• Charter schools that are not certified go into a lottery. 

 

• Lottery to be held at a public meeting, within 30 days 

of determination the limit has been exceeded. 

 

• Schools not selected through the lottery are certified 

for operation in the subsequent year. 

 



16 The Washington State Board of Education 

A Schedule For Rule Making 

 March 13-14 -- Approve proposed rules for CR 102 

and public hearing. 

 

 After March meeting – Second solicitation for public 

comment. 

 

 May 8-9 --  Public hearing on proposed rules. 

 

 July 10-11 – Rule adoption. 


