The Washington State Board of Education

Governance I Achievement I High School and College Preparation I Math & Science I Effective Workforce

TEACHER AWARD WINNERS

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Each January, the SBE will honor accomplished educators. The honorary teachers for the January Board Meeting represent the winners of the following awards:

- 1. The Washington State Teacher of the Year.
- 2. The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.
- 3. The Milken Educator Award.

Washington Teacher of the Year (Background)

- Established in 1963, the Washington Teacher of the Year is the longest running teacher recognition program in the state.
- All regional finalists received recognition, professional development, and prizes from program sponsors. The Washington Teacher of the Year attends various national events including a recognition week in Washington, D.C and Space Camp.
- The state selection committee reads and scores comprehensive written applications, interviews finalists, and chooses the Washington Teacher of the Year from a slate of nine regional finalists, one from each of our nine ESDs.
- A Washington teacher was named National Teacher of the Year in 1963, 1970, and 2007.

This year's winner:

Educator: Jay Maebori

School: Kentwood High School
District: Kent School District

"He has a track record of success and his level of 'grit,' defined here as perseverance and passion for long-term goals, is unparalleled in our school . . . What makes a great teacher? Ask his students or observe Jay Maebori teaching; either way, you'll know the answer." Assistant Principal Joseph Potts, Kentwood High School

Milken Educator Award (Background)



- Established in 1982 by the Milken Family Foundation, the Milken Educator Award is the largest teacher recognition program in the country and alternates between elementary and secondary teachers, administrators, or specialists.
- The award winner receives a \$25,000 cash prize and professional and leadership development from the Milken Family Foundation.
- There is no application for the award. The state builds a talent pool, gathers recommendations, and conducts interviews. An independent Blue Ribbon Panel recommends educators from the talent pool to the Foundation.
- The announcement of a Milken Educator is a closely guarded secret. Only the Foundation representatives, the state coordinator, and the educator's supervisor know who will be recognized.

This year's winner:

Educator: Kelly Aramaki

School: John Stanford International School

District: Seattle School District

"Kelly is just awesome!" says his former supervisor, Gloria Mitchell. "He is truly exceptional – not just as an educator, but also as a person."

Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) (Background)

- Established in 1983 and administered nationally by the National Science Foundation, the PAEMST is the highest honor in the country for a K-12 math or science teacher. The award alternates between elementary and secondary teachers.
- Award winners receive a \$10,000 cash prize, a trip to the nation's capital, and a signed commendation from President Obama.
- A rigorous application process includes a 15-page narrative, letters of recommendation, and a video of classroom instruction.
- State selection committees recommend finalists to the national program, and the White House announces award recipients in the spring.



Educator: Nicola Wethall

School: Oak Harbor High School
District: Oak Harbor School District

"The Presidential Award is a great honor that recognizes my passion for teaching mathematics and empowering students." Nicola Wethall

This year's winner (science):

Educator: Kareen Borders

School: Key Peninsula School District
District: Peninsula School District

"My students are not passive learners of science, they ARE scientists."

Kareen Borders

POLICY CONSIDERATION

None

EXPECTED ACTION

None